Art as a Practice of Liberation

I am convinced that my inability or incapacity to be who I should be, is surely dependent on the fact that opportunities for motivation might not have been discovered by myself or available. But the world is a space for motivational opportunities. My conceived ideas remain unknown to the World around me because I have not been able to communicate this great gift from within, to all. I have finally become a slave to myself and need to be liberated.What an irony? The human person imprisons his/herself.  These conceived ideas that remain as inactive within me, are part of the process for change, transformation, creation or restoration which actively take place in every context. The recently concluded Human Loom Project – ‘aPEACEinProcess’ describes such a reality and it is affirmed in the artist statement of Pat Augsburger.

Suzi Gablik pictures my experience as that of ‘an engaged artist’ in the words of R. Murray Schafer, a composer, writer and media theorist who lives in rural Ontario. Suzi shares her thought in The Reenchantment of Art thus;

Art moved by empathic attunement, not tied to an art-historical logic but orienting us to recognize that we are part of an interconnected web that ultimately we cannot dominate. Such art begins to offer a completely way of looking at the world. (p. 88)

WeaveThe fact that my individuality is not dishonored by the opportunity of a collective or communal participation (a collective energy and synergy) and engagement for which i am part of (the human loom project); and that the presence of the collectivity meant an accompaniment and boost to me, made me liberated from inactivity to activity. Our divisible uniqueness as individuals became an indivisible community bond of uniqueness beautifully woven into the human loom. My individuality adds to the collective beauty of our world.

Presenting this experience as a renewing phenomenon that explains the great deal of uncontrolled dynamics of intangible variables in life, resonates with Colin Wilson’s words “I believe that within a short space of time – perhaps a mere generation – we shall see the emergence of a new type of human being, and that many people now alive may be the first to accomplish this breakthrough”. It is about the liberation of the human person from the social construct and entire structure of thinking and experience in our world.

Reflecting on this liberation experience makes me regard it as a magic which is undeniable. The wall of individualism and private space was broken by the power of intention surrounding the project. The fact that all participants brought in their own gifts of fabric and weavable materials/items without pre-informed conditions or modalities, disclosed or revealed the awesomeness of the elegant outcome. It empowered integration, exchange and acknowledgement among the community of participants.

Weave1It might be a mindset on my part, but I am convinced that since this life presents itself in our current society as an endless accumulation of meaningless spectacles, originating in the loss of any unifying narrative of the world and of transformational freedom, liberation is indeed inevitable when there is a safe space.

ArtsEMU

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Interview with “Liberation Artist” Laura Saba

Leave a comment